This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Motivation and Fitness
Hi all sorry to make my first post a new thread asking for help but i am new to biking so havent had much to contribute to other threads and need help and advice and didnt have anyone else to ask.

I am 39, slightly overweight, smoked for all my adult life until quitting last year and have been a couch potato all my life. There is no way on earth i am going to be fat and unfit in my 40s so here I am. I have been cycling now for about 6 weeks. MTB when I can and road when I cant.

I have made massive strides so far including a few mountains in wales! On my first ride I felt like dying after about 500 yards. I can now cycle 20-40k fairly easily and have lost about a stone in weight and and feeling a zillion times better and my body is not even complaining. I feel like I can do so much more and it's all good except for a couple of problems which are holding me back.

1. Motivation. I sit for hours and hours sometimes willing myself to get outside and on my bike before I eventually do it - sometimes this can last a few days! Not an easy problem to solve I know but any hints to get over this would be great!