This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is it just me ?
I've been riding bikes since I was a kid and MTB'ing for ten years or so, but probably only really started pushing myself skills wise (at the age of 38) last year.

Other than one faceplant in July I was reasonably impressed with my improved skills and confidence.  I was riding quicker than I ever have done last October at Holmbury hill.

So why is it that this year I'm crap ?  I've ridden offroad 4 times since Christmas, twice at Bedgebury once in Surrey and once at Friston and every time I've felt slow, crap and bottled drops/jumps that I was flying at last year.

Anyone else find their bottle/skillz lacking after a couple of months break during the winter ?
I guess you do lose confidence in your grip and nerve it its not tested regularly - keeping your toe in as much as possible helps obviously.

At the moment, conditions are and have been muddy and wet, which always knocks confidence as grip isnt always there.

With drier season hopefully coming soon, you will probably get more confident as you've been punting around on the slippery stuff for a few months.

I bottle most jumps higher than a foot, but thats just me!  Tongue

It's your age mate, common sense and age tells your brain that you really shouldnt be chucking yourself off something!