This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tyre Pressures
Hi there I'm new to mtbing just a simply question I run with Maxxis Ardent 29 2.25 have no problem with them love the grip on the trail but when I'm on the fire roads in kings wood cant pick up speed with out feeling like the bike is starting to slide out on the gravel. If I have a lower tyre pressure in the front would this help I run both at 35 psi I'm about 96 kg in weight if that helps. Thanks Guys  Wink
Tyre pressure is a pretty personal thing and you will probably get varying responses but I would say 35psi is fairly high for general mtb. For Kings Wood I would normally run about 24psi front 27psi rear. Have a play around. Dropping 5-10 psi will definitely make a big difference in my experience. If I'm not peddling far I will run down to about 21psi, but that is tubeless and if you run tubes you might start pinch flatting if you go that low.